Train to Busan

Seok-Woo (Gong Yoo) is a fund manager in Seoul. He is separated from his wife and lives with his daughter Soo-An (Kim Soo-Ahn). Seok-Woo doesn’t spend much time with his daughter or show affection to her. On the night before Soo-An’s birthday, Soo-An insists on seeing her mother for her birthday. Seok-Woo has no other choice, but to take her to Busan. Early the next morning, they board the KTX train for Busan at Seoul Station.

Before the KTX train leaves Seoul Station, a zombie like girl jumps onto the train. The girl is infected with a horrific virus that is spreading like wildfire. Seok-Woo, Soo-An and the other passengers on the KTX train must now fight for their lives. (Source: Asianwiki)

Korean Name: 부산행
Runtime: 118 min.

Does this movie have a Happy Ending?

Notes (Spoilers)

SpoilerWarning

 

It is incredibly hard to determine if a movie has a happy ending when the movie is a horror flick. I would say yes and no. Why no?
Because 99% of the people on this train die. Many of them without a meaning, some of them while defending the lives of those they love. (Let me tell you never ever before was there a zombie movie that made me cry so damn much.)
Why yes? Because of the 1% that do survive, who were very important characters and they survived because of the sacrifice of others. In the end they reach Busan and we learn that the military has actually been able to confine the ‘plaque’ there. So there is a chance that they will survive for a whole lot longer.

And I know that I don’t often give opinions, because I want to focus on the ending but… I am a chickenshit. I don’t do well with horror movies or the horror genre in general even if it is just a little. (I still get creeped out when I see pitch black areas – Thank you Hotel Del Luna, and even shows I watched years ago still creep up on me today). That is why I pushed away watching this movie but I am glad I did. If you are like me, you may still like it. What I liked about it is that it focusses more on the characters and their stories, their struggles and the like instead of the zombies. Yes they are there and whoa nelly they are fast and creepy, but they don’t seem to be the main focus. That’s something I can appreciate. So give it a try, you may like it. I’m surprised by how much I did, oh yeah and get a family pack tissues before you do. 😉

 

2 thoughts on “Train to Busan

Add yours

  1. You should check out Seul Station its a prequel of Train to Busan (also horror but animated). It has a crazy twist in the ending. Can’t say its a happy twist Just really crazy.
    I am glad you enjoyed the movie I really like your blogs especially the spoilers part ahaha 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started